Cardiff City Forum

A forum for all things Cardiff City

Malaysians Dealing With Langston Debt?

Tue May 31, 2011 2:05 pm

I'm not very good at the financial ins and outs of the Langston debt but it is hitting me that the Malaysians dealing with the debt might not be all flowers and honey. Yes, the Malaysians paying the debt to Langston will get Langston off our case but surely to cover the debt, the Malaysians will need to take a loan out and I am guessing they'll put it against the club so that they are technically paying the interest to themselves?

Am I way off? Now, I am of the school of thought that I would have Sam Hammam back in a football consultant role away from the financial side if it meant the debt was rid of but ideally I would like a new era and a fresh start. However, what if in a worse case scenario the Malaysians decide enough is enough (i.e. if by horrific events we go down next season)... will they want to re-coup the debt money immediately? Will they be at all understanding?

Don't get me wrong, I am glad the debt is being addressed and maybe it is better that the Malaysians pay interest to themselves as our owners rather than Langston but it does make me slightly aware of the potential that the Malaysians will have us by the balls.

Now before anyone kicks off about me not knowing shit, I don't know shit so a lot of this could be bollocks. I'd like your thoughts on it though and if anyone has any knowledge of the financial side if they could give their opinions. :ayatollah:

Re: Malaysians Dealing With Langston Debt?

Tue May 31, 2011 2:58 pm

Or, reading the statement, it's way more likely they have told Hammam to go whistle, with the threat of investigating every single penny spent by Sam whilst chairman.

Which means I'd be amazed if a low offer wasn't made and accepted soon enough.

Tue May 31, 2011 4:41 pm