Cardiff City Forum

A forum for all things Cardiff City

Why a young Scottish Striker would pick Cardiff,

Sat Jun 25, 2011 8:34 am

as opposed to Celtic or Rangers.

How many talented young Scottish strikers have the old firm signed over the years only to park them on the bench and ruin their careers.

The Premiership is where every young striker wants to be. The days of Premiership teams signing lots of players from the old firm are long gone. Therefore the Championship is a much more promising route to the Premiership. Firstly you have the chance of promotion with the Championship club you are at. Secondly Premiership clubs do sign strikers from the Championship especially clubs who have been promoted.

For me it is a no brainer. If I was an agent or parent advising a young Scottish striker of his future, I would say go to Cardiff as opposed to an old firm club.

Six years ago that would have been a laughable statement. However times have changed and young talent will have much better career opertunities with a top Championship side than being with the old firm.

Re: Why a young Scottish Striker would pick Cardiff,

Sat Jun 25, 2011 8:40 am

Magners wrote:as opposed to Celtic or Rangers.

How many talented young Scottish strikers have the old firm signed over the years only to park them on the bench and ruin their careers.

The Premiership is where every young striker wants to be. The days of Premiership teams signing lots of players from the old firm are long gone. Therefore the Championship is a much more promising route to the Premiership. Firstly you have the chance of promotion with the Championship club you are at. Secondly Premiership clubs do sign strikers from the Championship especially clubs who have been promoted.

For me it is a no brainer. If I was an agent or parent advising a young Scottish striker of his future, I would say go to Cardiff as opposed to an old firm club.