Cardiff City Forum

A forum for all things Cardiff City

Post FA Cup Final Supporters

Tue Jul 12, 2011 10:40 am

Every now and then I see posts slagging them off, and I seriously fail to understand why.

Why is it a bad thing that a fantastic run in the UK's (and arguably the world's) greatest domestic cup competition increased the fanbase of the club by so much?

That season was when I first started getting into football (I used to be a lot bigger on rugby) and i'm not even slightly ashamed to admit that what really got me supporting the club was that fantastic run, and all of the televised games that came with it (most notably our fantastic performance against Middlesborough), and that the first full season that I completely followed was the season that we finished 7th.

I'm also not afraid to admit that i've only ever been to two city games in my entire life, mainly owing to the fact that i'm a university student so time and money are a very big issue, especially money. Although I have only been to two games, and watch every televised game and follow txt updates/final/sky sports news every saturday, I would definately consider myself a real fan. I don't really care/mind if people on here think otherwise.

Thoughts?

Re: Post FA Cup Final Supporters

Tue Jul 12, 2011 10:46 am

I have never been one of those who slag off other Bluebirds because they weren't there in the 80's, leave early or only go to a home game once a season.

If you are a Bluebird you are part of the family end of.

Tue Jul 12, 2011 10:48 am

Thank you, I appreciate that.

Tue Jul 12, 2011 10:48 am